Round 1 of the MSBK turned out to be the perfect platform for former Malaysian GP rider Khairul Idham Pawi to get back into racing form

Round 1 of the Malaysia Superbike Championship (MSBK) turned out to be the perfect platform for former Malaysian GP rider Khairul Idham Pawi to get back into racing form.

Starting the MSBK 600 race from second row behind front liners Mohd Ibrahim Norrodin, Azroy Hakeem Anuar and Mohd Helmi Azman, Khairul got off to a late start while the two 2020 model Honda CBR600RR set the initial race pace.

The MSBK 600 race had been touted as a five-corner fight between Ibrahim, Azroy, Helmi, Khairul and Mohd Sharifuddin Azman. The rivalry between the front row were apparent from the start with both Ibrahim and Azroy scrabbling for the same racing line.

While fighting for the same inch of tarmac on Lap 2, Ibrahim and Azroy touched. Both riders were unceremoniously dumped onto the gravel.

This left the way open for Khairul Idham to slip into the lead. Cool and collected, Khairul dictated the race rhythm from the front of the group.

“I had a really bad start because I’ve been away from the starting grid for almost a year. But I quickly noticed that Ibrahim and Azroy were making a lot of mistakes, so I decided to bide my time. For the first lap, I was content to follow. Once I got into the lead, I found that Helmi was also making a lot of unforced errors,” Khairul described.

One of Helmi’s unforced error included a last-lap last-corner gamble when he tried to out-brake everyone to take the win. Unfortunately for Helmi from the Boon Siew Honda Racing Team, the plan backfired when he ran wide. Helmi’s mistake allowed Khairul Idham Pawi to race unencumbered to the finish line and complete his comeback race in winning style with 21’59.034s

“It was a really good race and I enjoyed it very much,” he concluded.

Mohd Syarifuddin Azman from SIC Racing trailed Khairul Idham to the finish line in second place. Helmi Azman had to concede in third with 21’59.430s.


  1. Khairul Idham Pawi (Yamaha, ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team), 21’59.034s
  2. Mohd Syarifuddin Azman (Kawasaki, SIC Racing), 21’59.383s
  3. Mohd Helmi Azman (Honda, Boon Siew Honda Racing Team), 21’59.430s


Catch up latest news at
Chat with us