Round 3 of the Malaysia Superbike Championship took place today at the PETRONAS Sepang International Circuit. Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin of Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team ASEAN marked the fastest today in Race 1 in the MSBK1000 A race category.

During the qualifying session this morning, Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin of Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team ASEAN once again was striking when he made the fastest lap time at 2’07:033s. At second fastest place was Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman of Horizon Racing Team with his best at 2’08:389s. Soichiro Minamimoto of Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team ASEAN made it third fastest with his best lap time at 2’09:190s.

Taking the lead position at the start was Azlan Shah followed by Kasma at P2 and Soichiro at P3. As the trio went on to complete the lap, they also drew a huge gap with the troop trailing behind. Into lap 2, Kasma who was waiting to strike made his move from the inside and ahead of Azlan. Meanwhile, Azroy who faced race direction picked up his pace and moved into P4. Soichiro tried to close his gap with Azlan as Kasma went on to open a gap of 1.216s with the duo behind him. As the race went on, Kasma was comfortably picking up pace and leading with no pressure from behind. Azroy at P4 was relentless as he went on by lap to move closer to the duo ahead of him. By the end of lap 7, Soichiro and Azroy made a slide from the inside ahead of Azlan but Azlan was quick to recover his position. The three engaged in a heated battle before Azlan and Azroy finished ahead of Soichiro. Kasma celebrated victory at 21’28:457s.

Commenting on the race, Kasma said, “I tried to control my pace throughout the race. I was trying to make the lap time that I wanted at 0.6s and finally made it so I am quite pleased. As we closed down one lap by another, I noticed that Azlan who was behind me, the gap was quite big. So, I just maintained my pace and tried to play it safe. I will try to repeat the same victory tomorrow and hope that it will all go well like today.”

Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman of Horizon Racing Team took second spot on the podium at 21’32:642s.

Azroy Hakeem Anuar made it third at 21’32:037s.


Catch up latest news at malaysiasbk.com.
Chat with us