Race 2, Round 1 of Malaysia Superbike Championship was held this evening at the Sepang International Circuit. Md Helmi Azman of Boon Siew Honda Racing Team made an impressive win today in the MSBK600 race category.

It was a fiery battle between teammates, Helmi and Khairul. For the first 9 laps, Khairul took the lead but Helmi caught up. The duo was seen fleeing ahead of the troop behind, with Soichiro at P3. The gap gave the duo ahead space to manage their own battle. While Soichiro competed briefly with his teammate, he managed to overcome the challenge, concluding at third spot. Helmi who finally worked his magic took over P1 before taking victory.

The race flagged off with Helmi taking the lead. Soichiro was at P2 while teammate Sharul took P3. As the race went on, Helmi kept his pace up as he avoided the pressure from Soichiro. The 10-lap race took off without Khairul who was seen riding back into the paddock before the race began. At P4, Syazras battled with Fenglong as the latter tried to close the gap. Meanwhile, teammates Soichiro and Sharul engaged in a fiery battle. Helmi was far ahead with a 2.825s gap by the end of lap 2.

By the third lap, Fengloon and Anuar Ibrahim overtook Syazras. Anuar then tried to make his move on Fengloon before the latter slipped and fell. The battle for P4 went on between Anuar and Syazras. By mid-race, Helmi went on to draw a 7.478s while managing his pace, careful not to make any mistakes. Soichiro by then took P2 but Sharul was relentless in his pursuit. Sochiro began taking up speed. At the final lap, Helmi was 12.202s away from Soichiro and went on towards taking a double-win. He clocked in at 21’57:942s.

Commenting on the race, Helmi said, “I did not expect Khairul’s machine to have problems. We planned to be ahead of the troop together during the race but unfortunately, he could not realise the plan with me. I took off with a great speed and tried to draw enough gap with the rider behind me and I succeeded all the way. It was a fantastic race and I am grateful for today.”

At second spot was Soichiro Minamimoto of Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team Asean at 22’10:865s.

Teammate, Md Sharul Ezwan took the third spot at 22’23:410s.


Catch up latest news at malaysiasbk.com.
Chat with us