Race 1, Round 1 of the Malaysia Superbike Championship made a striking impression at the Sepang International Circuit. Celebrating the win today in the Berjaya Sompo Y16ZR Yamaha Race MasterClass was Arash Tsunami of Taycon Motor.

During the qualifying session this morning, Abdullah Qayyum of Ns1 Racing Team made the fastest lap time at 3’12:219s. Second fastest was Syukran Aizat of Ys Chong Motor at 3’13:483s followed by Shafiq Ezzariq of New Chen Motorsports at 3’13:646s.

At lap 1, Iqram took the lead followed by Qayyum at P2 and Shafiq at P3. By the end of lap 2, Shafiq moved into P1 with Syukran and Qayyum close behind. Meanwhile, Arash, Amirun and Aliff were seen battling between P4 and P6. By mid-race, Iqram emerged at P1 while Shafiq trailed fiercely behind. At P3 was Syukran. By the 4th lap, Arash who was among the back troop of riders emerged at P1 while Shafiq maintained his momentum at P2.

With another two laps to go, the riders looked out for ways to move ahead. Syukran, Arash and Shafiq seemed steady among the front troops as they battled for P1. At the final lap, Arash and Syukran engaged in a heated battle but Arash managed to stay put among the front troop while Syukran lost his pace and lost into the back troop. At the final turn, Arash put on one final fight with Shafiq and by slip-streaming, clocked in first at 17’52:477s.

Commenting on the race, Arash said, “It was quite a competitive race but I kept on with the pace and I maintained consistency. Towards the last few laps, I tried to move into the front troop and worked to keep my position there. In the final lap, it was a strategy that worked very well and I am grateful for the win today.”

Md Shafiq Ezzariq of New Chen Motorsports took the second spot, clocking in at 17’52:491s.

Ahmad Iqram Danish of SHH Penang Team took the third spot at 17’52:651s.


Catch up latest news at
Chat with us